The 16 historic burial mounds on Gjessinggaard suggest that already in the Bronze Age it was an attractive place for people to settle.
Gjessinggaard’s history and name can be traced back to the early Viking days, where in the early 1000’s the great Chieftain Thorkild Geysa had his castle where the present Manor House now stands. The estate was then known as Geisinggaard.
In 1048 the Norwegian King Harold, after totally plundering and burning the cities of Hedeby and Aarhus, sailed up the Gude fjord (now Randers fjord) to kidnap Geysa’s two daughters. Geysa had to pay a heavy ransom for their safe return.
Through the 15, 16 and 1700’s the estate owners were of the noble families Friis, Munk and Juul who owned it through three generations each.
In 1734 the lands were bought by the district revenue officer Hans von Folsach, who in1747 constructed the unique three-winged Manor house, which today is renowned as one of Jutland's most important Baroque designed buildings. The von Folsachs owned Gjessinggaard for 230 years until Chamberlain Hans von Folsach sold the estate in 1977 to his nephew Count Peter Bernstorff.
Today Gjessinggaard Estate comprises of several working farms as well as offering a wonderful selection of events and activities, such as shoots, rifle hunting, as well as various banquets and festivities.